- NASCAR Nationwide Series News, Sprint Cup Series News, Views, Photos, Blogs and More!

NNS Race Recap-Busch Takes 12th Win of 2010!

Today’s 300 race got underway with #18 Kyle Busch on the pole and #33 Kevin Harvick alongside. Busch would take the lead at the green, but Harvick battled back to take the front spot on the ninth lap.

Green flag pit stops commenced for the leaders around lap 40, with a caution for debris coming out a few laps later. On the lap 51 restart of the 150 lap event, Busch took the lead and the top-ten ran as Busch, Harvick, #22 Brad Keselowski, #20 Joey Logano, #60 Carl Edwards, #99 Martin Truex Jr., #32 Reed Sorenson, #12 Justin Allgaier, #1 Ryan Newman and #15 Michael Annett. Six laps later, Harvick reclaimed the lead.

With Harvick still running out front, lap 79 brought out the yellow for contact between #66 Steven Wallace and #11 James Buescher. When pit road opened the leaders would pit; Harvick losing five spots after a lengthy stop due to a #33 crewmember getting gas in his eyes. Meanwhile Busch was penalized for speeding on pit road, so, on the double-file restart, Edwards and Keselowski held the front row, Keselowski taking the lead spot within a lap.

Just past the 100 lap mark came another caution for debris, and the field would pit. Exiting pit road the leaders were Keselowski, Allgaier, Edwards, Harvick, Busch, Truex Jr., Logano, #17 Trevor Bayne, #32 Reed Sorenson, and #15 Michael Annett.

On the restart Keselowski assumed the lead, but Busch took over on lap 113, then Harvick went to the front with 36 to go. The fourth caution came for and incident involving #62 Brendan Gaughan and Annett. The leaders would pit, and Harvick would again lose the lead due to a lengthy pit stop. Off pit road the top-ten were Busch, Edwards, Allgaier, Truex Jr., Keselowski, Harvick, Logano, Newman, #88 Almirola and Sorenson.

Busch would take the lead on the restart with 17 to go, but two laps later the yellow came out for #83 John Borneman III who hit the wall and slid onto pit road. Busch maintained the lead on the restart, but the yellow soon came out again for an incident involving Buescher, #7 Danica Patrick, #6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and # 10 Ricky Carmichael. This succession of yellows made it difficult for Harvick to be in contention for the lead again, and as the field went green with five to go, it was still Busch’s race.

Kyle Busch would go on to claim his ninth NNS win from the pole, and his 12th win of the season. He would also give Joe Gibbs Racing a record six consecutive wins at the same track. The rest of the top-ten finishers were Keselowski, Harvick, Edwards, Logano, Almirola, Newman, Allgaier, #40 Mike Bliss, and Sorenson. #16 Colin Braun was the highest finishing rookie in 13th.

Post-race interview note-Kevin Harvick said changes will be made on the pitcrew for next week, commenting on the “terrible job” on pit road.

Share this News:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • MySpace
  • RSS
  • Tumblr
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks

Comments are closed.
Sign Up for our Newsletter


Which manufactures car will look the best after the next change?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Motorsports News Links