- NASCAR Nationwide Series News, Sprint Cup Series News, Views, Photos, Blogs and More!

RCR, Shepherd Form Shepherd Racing Ventures for 21 NNS Program

Richard Childress Racing and Morgan Shepherd’s Racing for Jesus have formed Shepherd Racing Ventures, a partnership to run the No. 21 for the remainder of the 2010 NASCAR Nationwide Series season.

Clint Bowyer will drive RCR’s No. 21 Zaxby’s Chevrolet at Atlanta Motor Speedway (Sept. 4), Richmond International Raceway (Sept. 10), Charlotte Motor Speedway (Oct. 15) and Texas Motor Speedway (Nov. 6). Shepherd will drive the No. 21 Shepherd Racing Ventures Chevrolet in the seven other races remaining.

“Morgan and I have been friends for a long time and he is a direct link back to the days when we raced together in the ’60s, ’70s and 80s,” said Richard Childress, president and CEO of Richard Childress Racing. “He’s been a great representative of NASCAR for all that time so I’m honored to be working with Morgan in continuing his racing career.”

Shepherd earned four NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victories in a career that began in 1970 and spanned 514 races. He finished four seasons in the top 10 of the point standings, with a career-best fifth in 1990. He has also earned 15 victories in 280 starts in the NASCAR Nationwide Series. He has competed in 19 of 24 Nationwide Series races in 2010.

About Richard Childress Racing
Richard Childress Racing ( has earned more than 180 victories and 12 NASCAR championships, including six in the Sprint Cup Series with the legendary Dale Earnhardt. RCR was the first organization to win championships in the Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series. Its 2010 Sprint Cup Series lineup includes Kevin Harvick (No. 29 Shell-Pennzoil Chevrolet), Jeff Burton (No. 31 Caterpillar Chevrolet) and Clint Bowyer (No. 33 Cheerios/Hamburger Helper Chevrolet). Bowyer drives the No. 21 Zaxby’s Chevrolet in the 2010 Nationwide Series, Austin Dillon drives the No. 3 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet in the 2010 Camping World Truck Series and Tim George Jr. drives the No 31 RCR Development Chevrolet in the 2010 ARCA Racing Series presented by RE/MAX and Menards. Ty Dillon and Ryan Gifford are RCR developmental drivers in both asphalt and dirt track racing.

Share this News:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • MySpace
  • RSS
  • Tumblr
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks

Comments are closed.
Sign Up for our Newsletter


Which manufactures car will look the best after the next change?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Motorsports News Links